Come on be happy

I’ve had a mini-revelation.  It’s not earth-shattering and it’s not life-changing, but I think it’s still a positive revelation that I hope to make a positive change in my life.

A lot has happened which led to this moment – and you’ll learn about that later.  I don’t want to make this a mega-long post about all the craziness in my life this past year.

I want to focus on the good.  I want to be happy.

Isn’t that such a simple statement.  It should be so easy.  To be happy.  But we actually have to work on being happy.  That is insane!

I look at my beautiful almost 7 month old son, who becomes insanely happy when I make a goofy face at him, and think adult happiness should be that easy.  But alas, that’s not the world we live in.

But we can be happy.  And that’s my goal.  I have a million and five excuses not to be happy or to avoid doing the things that may make me happy.  And I generally have let those excuses win out.  Thus, here I am – not as happy as a I should be.

So I’m letting go of the excuses.  Sure, things will pop up that will make my well-thought out plans fall apart.  And I need to go with the flow, and make the best, and be happy.  Not get upset over lack of control in my life, but relish the opportunity to grow and find opportunities in the chaos.

Sounds beautiful right?  Well, I’m sure it won’t be easy.  I’m sure I’ll have my ‘why bother’ or ‘I give up’ moments.  But as I watch my son practicing his new skill of sitting right now, and watch him topple over (safely in a well padded pack n’ play) and get back up to try again – I got just get over those moments and try again.

So let’s do this, folks!

I’ve been complaining about not fitting into my pre-pregnancy clothes since I was about 4 months pregnant.  My son is almost 7 months and I’m still complaining – but still finding excuses not to exercise or watch my diet.  Still sitting on the couch and eating potato chips (literally) and feeling bad about myself.

So this week: I’m going to work out around 9am every morning.  I have DVDs I can do while my son is asleep – or playing in a safe environment – and of course those can be paused if he really needs me.  So there you go.  Week one task.  Stop letting the ‘I have a baby’ excuse keep me from exercising.  I’m interested to see how this one will go!

Leave a Reply

