My 34th Week

I’m on the last day of my 34th week of pregnancy.  And I’m happy to see the days ticking away!

This week can be characterized in one word: EXHAUSTION

I have had little to no motivation to do anything, but of course my calendar was pretty full most days.  So the days I had little to nothing to do, that’s exactly what I did: little to nothing!  Which makes me feel lazy, but I keep reminding myself that my body needs this rest right now.

Symptoms:

Exhaustion and Fatigue.  I find myself napping a little less than I used to, but I still just want to lie on the couch all day long!

A bit of nausea.  I think this is related to my stomach getting even more squished though.  I find if I eat too much (which is more than a sandwich), I get nauseated.  And if I’m not hungry but craving something – if I give in and eat, I regret it!

Thirst – I’ve been pretty thirsty lately – but it has been warmer in NC this past week, so I’m guessing that is playing a big part in my thirst.

Hot Flashes – I’ve always, always been the cold one!  But now I’m sweating like a pig if the temperature outside is above 50.  Everyone in Charlotte seemed to love the high 60s we’ve had this past week.  But not me!!

Cravings:

Ever since my glucose test, I’ve been craving sweets: blueberry muffins, cake (though I haven’t given in to that one yet), chocolate chip cookies and brownies.  As the weather was warmer – I really wanted a brownie sundae, but I didn’t give in.  It’s February and I feel it’s wrong to buy ice cream in February.

Other strong cravings: Orange Juice and Doritos (not together though!)

Aversions:  I still don’t really like just a plain piece of chicken placed in front of me, but I begrudgingly eat it.  It has paid off though as my iron levels have been excellent!

Sleep: Not bad.  I wake up a few times a night to go to the bathroom and a few more times to switch sides I’m sleeping on, but not too many nights where I can’t fall asleep.  I read for at least 30 minutes before turning in which really helps.

Feeling: Over pregnancy!  I feel a little guilty saying it but I’m so ready to have my body back!  I want to be able to sleep in any position I want to, eat or drink whatever I want to, take some ibuprofen when I have a headache.  These are such tiny little things in the grand scheme of things, I know, and the payoff is definitely worth what I’m giving up, but it’s still what I’m feeling.

IMG_3179

 

Leave a Reply

