Confessions of a goal junkie

Hi!  I’m Ashley.  And I’m a goal junkie.  I love making goals.  The problem is, the majority of the goals I set, I do not achieve.

This happens for a variety of reasons.  Sometimes I’m just not ready to make the commitment to the process, I just want the results.  Sometimes I overload myself with too many things to do and can not dedicate the time to achieving a goal.  Sometimes I talk myself out of trying (the fear factor).  But most of the time, I just have a hard time taking that first step to getting started.  For some reason, it can be the simplest thing I want to do, and I can not get motivated to get off the couch.

I’m not lazy.  Well, most of the time I’m not lazy.

I do have some health conditions which cause low energy and fatigue.  But honestly, I don’t like using that as an “excuse”.  I’m still in the process of learning that my body can only do what it can do.  I have trouble accepting that it can’t always do what I want it to do.  But I digress.

Most of the time, I just have so many ideas flying around in my mind, so many dreams, wishes, and goals, that I don’t know where to start.  And oftentimes these goals are conflicting.

For instance, I want to tone up for summer but I also want to make gourmet meals and tasty desserts every night (because I enjoy cooking – and yes, eating).

So what do I focus on?  Do I try my hand at a fancy soufflé or go to the gym to do some extra ab work?  I don’t have an answer for that question, so right now I do neither.  And that’s frustrating.  I want to do something, but I’m deadlocked at what to do because I can’t figure out what I want more.

Well, let’s face it.  What I really want is that rippin’ rockin’ bod and to be able to eat high fat, caloric and homemade masterpiece dinners and desserts.  But that’s not reality.

So I guess my goal is to slow down and figure out what is best for me.  Because really, it’s all about balance.  You can make a fancy not-so-healthy meal every now and then.  And you can eat healthful and tasty meals most of the time, while working towards that rockin’ bod.

Balance has never been my forte.  I’ve always juggled too much at once.  But as I age (I’m now the big 3-5, which is not old, but for women somehow it always seems to be a fairly big year), I find that balance is really what I want.  A little bit of this, a little bit of that.

So this is my journey that I will be sharing with you.  My journey to find balance in this ever-changing, chaotic and beautiful world!

 

Leave a Reply

